Fantasy & Sci-Fi: Highlights of the Week #1

highlights1

Wondering what’s new this week? Well here are the highlights on what has caught my eye. Come take a gander at the weekly book picks, content for readers, and more.

Book Picks

This is merely a list that has caught my attention. In no way can I ensure the quality is up to your standards. The choice to explore this content is entirely your call.


catalystCatalyst
By Michael C. Grumley [Science Fiction]

“When an enigmatic doomsday vault is discovered, no one knows where it came from — but a team of marine biologists and navy investigators are tasked with finding out. And nothing can prepare them for what they will discover… A heart-stopping thrill-ride in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Clive Cussler!”

Alexsoo: Nice cover, and the description has me intrigued!

thevagrantThe Vagrant By Peter Newman [Fantasy]

A “stunning and ambitious” novel (Locus Award–nominated author Melinda Snodgrass) with over 400 five-star Goodreads ratings. In a desolate world ravaged by war, the Vagrant comes into possession of a powerful weapon. Can he deliver it to the Shining City in time to save the human race?

Alexoo: People must like this one with over 400 five star ratings on Goodreads. An awesome cover helps too I’m sure!

highlinersHighliners By William B. McCloskey Jr. [Action and Adventure]

An engrossing adventure that’s as “raw and bracing as icy seawater” (Kirkus Reviews). Hank yearns to join the highliners, Alaska’s fishing elite. But is he strong enough to weather the hardships and dangers of life at sea? “A Pacific Northwest cult classic” (Publishers Weekly).

Alexsoo: Reminds me of a book I read a long time ago called Trapped in Ice.

Reviews and Other Stuff by Ria on Bibliotropic

The Flux, by Ferrett Steinmetz

AND be sure to check this out if you like colouring books before Sept 11

GIVEAWAY: Edgar Allen Poe Adult Colouring Book, by Odessa Begay

Content for Readers

Amazon France Mistakenly Lists Release Date for George R.R. Martin’s The Winds of Winter By Maryann Yin on GallyCat

14 Unexpected Day Jobs of Bestselling Authors on Reedsy

Other Fun Stuff

Skallagrim on Youtube

Sword vs arrow challenge – Can I beat the archer at least once?

Alexsoo: So best to dodge altogether or hit the arrow with the flat of the blade… if you know when the archer releases the arrow… which in most cases you wouldn’t. So best to run and zig-zag! Hopefully they will run out of arrows!

Sword safety – Don’t cut your fingers off! (or endanger anyone else)

Alexsoo: Pet safety. Yes! Please be a responsible pet parent.

Alexsoo’s Updates

Book and Author News

The interior design of my book The knight’s Order is progressing nicely. I can’t wait to see the final version!

I have the initial rough copies done for the first and second chapters of the next novel. The outline of the book is a work-in-progress.

I’ve been working on images for my About page. I’m hoping to update that soon.

Relaxation and Fun

hexen2016I had the chance to try some old games from way-back-when. Hexen in particular. Anyone remember that one? I have one such memory of accidentally turning off the game when my brother was playing it, and there was no save option at that time–sorry! He was nice enough to show me the ending… after he had to start over. Sorry again!

I thought it would be cool to try the game out. I could never get past the first part as a kid. I made it about half-way… and I’m stuck again.

monkey-island-2-1So, in the meantime I tried another game. Monkey Island 2! I played Escape From Monkey Island a long time ago, so this was really neat. The graphics are amazing for its time. And… I’m stuck.

 

 

Well, back to Hexen!

Summer Highlights

camp312016Every year I go to Rib-fest and this year was no different, except the location. I discovered the Funnel Cake –thank you Jason. It was sooo good. Oh, ya the ribs were good too! Camp 31 is the best, only second to Turtle Jack. Come back to Rib-fest Turtle Jack!

I had the opportunity to go to a community BBQ. The line was long, the sun was hot, BUT the music was super and it was nice to get out and have a short break.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

flowers2016

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *